Rhubarb!

I’ve mentioned Dave and Dougie in earlier posts.  Between them they operate, probably two and a half plots – their own plots, which are next to one another plus some other part plots that are adjacent.

I recall mentioning, in passing, to an neighbouring allotment holder a few weeks ago that I had visited their plots and he commented, “its an education isn’t it?”  That’s probably an understatement.  Dougie is, I understand, a retired market gardener and when I first met Dave, he commented, “Dougie’s the brains and I’m the brawn”.  Almost certainly that’s  a simplification, but whenever I chat with them and spend time looking at their plot(s) I’m absolutely fascinated.

Oh, and what about the rhubarb?  On my last visit, Dave very kindly gave me a bundle of rhubarb………….absolutely delicious!

Dave
Dave
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Dougie
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Peach
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Grapes
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sowing Parsnips
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Apricots
Leave a Reply

